What Charles Dickens and Kate Winslet have in common

Everyone can be a hero:

I recently stumbled upon this quote from Charles Dickens’ David Copperfield: “Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show.” This led me to think of a line from the movie “The Holiday” wherein Kate Winslet, as Iris, says, “You’re supposed to be the leading lady of your own life, for God’s sake!” The idea here is that everyone has the power to be a hero or “leading lady.” We just have to believe that we have this capacity and then ACT like we believe it! And voila—instant hero! 

One of my heroes is Alex Irwin. I mentioned Alex in my first blog because he is raising money for Tangram through his own Firstgiving page. Alex is a hero because of his can-do attitude. I can just picture him saying, “$25,000 in 25 Days? No problem.” He is a hero, not only because he believes that one person, such as himself, can make a difference, but also because he believes in the power of community. He has already inspired many people to embrace their inner hero and I have no doubt that he will continue to do so during the 25 Days and beyond. If we all act like we believe in the power of individuals to effect change, imagine the good we will accomplish.

I encourage you to embrace your inner hero or leading lady and let the pages of your life reflect your decision. I will start us off by taking my own advice. Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up…

Comments Off on What Charles Dickens and Kate Winslet have in common

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.