Volunteering is easier than selling grapefruit

Become part of the potential…

“If you ever need a helping hand, it is at the end of your arm. As you get older you must remember you have a second hand. The first one is to help yourself. The second hand is to help others.” –Audrey Hepburn

You wouldn’t believe how many volunteer appreciation quotes there are. Today is Friday, so yes, I had to seek wisdom from somewhere outside of my own cubicle. And who better to quote than the lovely Audrey Hepburn?

I spent 12 years of my life going to Catholic schools. As a result, there was a span of time when I thought that all skirts were gray and brown plaid with accordion pleat. Another side effect of my Catholic education was that I had to change my middle name to Fundraiser. Sooner than I could write my name, I was calling relatives and asking them to sponsor walks and buy cookie dough, citrus fruit, perennials, poinsettias, pumpkins, cookies, raffle tickets, and basically anything else I could peddle. But perhaps the greatest imprint that those 12 years could have left on my life is that they taught me the importance of volunteerism and shaped me into a volunteer.

If you are a volunteer, you probably don’t realize just how valuable you are, but I am here to tell you that a good volunteer is downright irreplaceable. Time is a valuable resource—and volunteers give it away for FREE!

There are many reasons that one might volunteer: school credit, something to do to feel useful, fulfilling a sense of duty to give back to the community, a way to give in lieu of money, or, according to one little boy, who was asked why he wanted to volunteer, “Because it makes you feel good in your heart.”

Whatever your reason, just know that volunteers are vital parts of the community. When you volunteer, you enable an organization, a group of people, a community to reach its full potential. If you would like to learn more about Tangram’s volunteer opportunities call me at 968-9048.  

Cheers,

Lindsey

Learn more about Tangram

Comments Off on Volunteering is easier than selling grapefruit

Filed under Community, Disability, Giving, Humor

Comments are closed.