What would I do if my car broke down?

Make it happen…

I am chronically late. Every morning, I wake up about 40 minutes before I have to be out the door. In the span of time between my alarm going off and getting into my car, I decide how many more times I can press snooze, whether to brush my teeth before or after I shower, what to wear, what to pack for lunch, what materials I need for the day, whether I should make coffee at home or get some on the way to work, what coffee mug to use, whether or not to leave my heat on, whether or not to take the trash out, etc.

I shudder to think what my life might be like if I didn’t have a car that I could jump in at a moment’s notice. I have the luxury of running behind schedule or being late because I have my own (mostly reliable) mode of transportation and getting myself ready in the morning can take as little as 20 minutes.

For someone who uses a wheelchair and must rely on public transportation to get to where they need to be, planning is a huge factor in their life. Just getting out the door may require a couple hours of work. Then, one must plan around the bus schedule. There is no such thing as hopping in the car to run to the grocery store for that item you forgot to buy earlier in the day.

We all want convenience. Tangram has a fleet of 12 vans to make life as convenient as possible for those we serve. The money we raise during the 25 Days of Tangram will help cover the cost of transportation, so that our clients can get to jobs, volunteer positions, community activities, family gatherings, church, etc.  Consider donating to Tangram today and ensure that these things happen for our clients.  Donate to Tangram

Cheers,

Lindsey

Donate to Tangram

 

Comments Off on What would I do if my car broke down?

Filed under Community, Disability, Giving, Impact

Comments are closed.