The pitfalls of dressing in the dark

A different perspective…

Yesterday, I wore two different shoes to work. One was a black pump with a bow on the toe and the other was a brown Mary Jane pump. Two shoes could not look less alike. I was mortified when I realized what I had done. These things shouldn’t happen to 22 year-olds with perfectly good eyesight. Everyone I showed my mistake to thought it was hilarious (which it was). Soon we had a bet going over whether or not my boss, Kathy, would notice.

To me, the black shoe stuck out like a sore thumb! I was wearing brown pants and it just didn’t look right. I was very self-conscious. I kept waiting for people to notice as I walked down the hall or stood in front of the copier and made a cup of coffee in the kitchen, but no one did. I finally had to call Kathy over to my desk and show her my mistake. I don’t know how long it would have taken her to notice if I hadn’t shown her.

When Carol and Nancy, two of my coworkers asked me if I were going to blog about my shoe faux pas, my immediate reaction was, “I don’t think people want to read about my personal clothing issues. What message can I attach to the anecdote?”

The answer was guessed first by Nancy and Carol, but was proven to me by the end of the day. You see, no one noticed my shoes. The thing that I felt most self-conscious about all day went completely unnoticed by my coworkers unless I brought it to their attention. When you feel self-conscious about something, you think that everyone will notice immediately, you will become the laughingstock of the office, people will judge you, etc. However, I am here to attest to the fact that if you just act like yourself, people will be too busy noticing YOU to notice anything else, even something that seems monumentally obvious.

Cheers,

Lindsey

Learn more about Tangram

Comments Off on The pitfalls of dressing in the dark

Filed under Disability, Humor, Perspective

Comments are closed.