Oh, the mistakes I’ve made!

Your path is your own…

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” –J. K. Rowling

Right you are, Ms. Rowling. Like anything else, we don’t recognize the importance of having choices until our choices are taken away. Most of us probably don’t realize the enormous role that choice plays in our lives. I mentioned in an earlier post all the choices I make daily between the time I wake up and the time I arrive at work. Take a moment, right now, and count how many choices you have made today. Think really hard, because you make hundreds of choices a day, and you probably don’t even realize it.

Did you come up with a total? If you aren’t shocked by the number of decisions you have tallied up, you probably missed quite a few.

Now think about this: How would you feel if someone else made all your decisions for you? What if you were never given the opportunity to make a mistake? How would you learn? How would you grow?

My parents can tell you that I made plenty of poor choices growing up, and I continue to make mistakes now. But my parents gave me the option of choosing my own path (with a healthy amount of guidance, of course), and, as a result, I learned.  

Shouldn’t we all be given the chance to make choices? Just food for thought…

Cheers,

Lindsey

Learn more about Tangram

Comments Off on Oh, the mistakes I’ve made!

Filed under Disability, Perspective

Comments are closed.