Winter Warlock and the power of kindness

Transforming lives…

Transformation: to change in form, appearance, nature, or character

I recently stumbled across the stop-motion animated Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town. It was one of my favorite seasonal movies when I was growing up, probably because the young Mrs. Claus is portrayed as a red-haired schoolteacher, and as a red-haired child, I thought I had a pretty good chance of becoming Mrs. Claus someday.

As I simultaneously watched the movie and revisited my childhood, I remembered that my favorite part of the movie is when Winter Warlock undergoes his transformation.

Winter (as he prefers to be called post-transformation) is transformed through the power of kindness. His icy façade melts away when Kris (Kringle) gives him a toy choo-choo train. Winter becomes a less-scary, rosy-cheeked version of his former self, who, for the rest of the movie, lends his magical aid to Kris as he delivers toys to Sombertown and ends the reign of Burgermeister Meisterburger.

The transformation of Winter Warlock appeals to me because it demonstrates the power of simple acts of kindness. The gift of the toy train turned out to be more magical than the Warlock’s powers. But Winter was not the only one who benefitted from Kris’s act of kindness; Kris gained a friend and an ally.

In giving to others, we receive gifts ourselves. When we think that we are transforming the lives of others, we realize that it is actually our lives that are being transformed.

Cheers,

Lindsey

Learn more about Tangram

Comments Off on Winter Warlock and the power of kindness

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.