A resolution that works for everyone

It is that time of the year—time to start thinking about New Year’s resolutions. One of the most popular resolutions is undoubtedly the determination to get into shape, lose weight, start exercising, adopt healthy eating habits, etc. I have tried this one and, believe me, it isn’t pretty.

I think it might be time for us to look into other options for those notorious New Year’s resolutions. I’m sure that most of us fall off the health and fitness bandwagon by the first week of February anyway. So, today, I will borrow a little wisdom from my Uncle Bruce, whom I greatly admire for his sense of social responsibility and volunteer spirit. He once said to me that there is so much need in our community that if we all just gave back a little of our time to help others, we could drastically reduce that need. Unfortunately, not everyone does their part to give back to the community.

I turn to Uncle Bruce once more for advice: “Sometimes, you just have to suck it up and do something civic.” With this in mind, I encourage you to choose a New Year’s resolution with a focus on others and not self. Get involved in the community, volunteer, be a friend to someone. Those half-hearted resolutions to keep a clean house or give up soda are nice, but do they actually mean anything? Your house probably wasn’t that messy to begin with and you will find other ways to get the sugar and caffeine from the pop you gave up.

Resolve to improve yourself from the inside by giving back to the community this year. The benefits you will gain are wide-ranging: by involving others in your resolution, you have a greater chance of sticking to it; by actively participating in volunteer activities, you will feel better about yourself and may even improve your health.

This is my challenge for 2011. I hope you will join me in giving back and I wish you a peaceful and prosperous New Year.

Cheers,

Lindsey

Volunteer at Tangram

Comments Off on A resolution that works for everyone

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.